RE: Breath games and thought addiciton.

Bertrand Borley, modified 1 Year ago at 12/13/22 11:29 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 12/13/22 11:29 PM

Breath games and thought addiciton.

I have been meditating on and off for four years, but devoted more energy to studies and personal projects until recently. My meditaiton practice has been short and short lived, but pockets where I've stuck the habit have born fruit in the past. I am now at the point in my life to make it a priority, and I am. I' currently on retreat in India practicing anapanasati 3-5 hours a day, and I am making some progress. Having lived with dharma for years, meditated on and off to varying degrees of success, and read a fairly diverse set of buddhist literature, I feel am satisfied with the wholesome qualities I have developed, satisfied with my sila, and patient when it comes to insight. My difficutly is concentration.

Sadly, I am a fairly mindless person. I don't judge myself for this, but the reality asserts itself whenver I sit down on a pillow. Fantasies dominate me. These days, they are pretty wholesome fantasies, which I count as an endoursement of my sila. But I am still too weak to stop them arising and capturing my attention, most of the time. I would like to make better progress with this diffculty, as stable attention is so essential for all the other teachings I'd like to incorporate. I am practicing breath meditation in the style of the Mind Illuminated, and I am currently reading MTCB and loving it. I am also quite familiar with the teachings of Rob Burbea and enjoy using his imaginal practice to bolster my concetration efforts.