RE: Noting the Urge to Breath - Odd Experience

S M, modified 1 Year ago at 12/30/22 7:18 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 12/30/22 7:18 PM

Noting the Urge to Breath - Odd Experience

TLDR: breathing naturally gets faster when I'm more concentrated; previous teacher thinks that's an attachment; tried resisting urge to take deep breath which resulted in much pain; thinking of switching Vipassana styles but unsure of validity of noting the whole body
Note: this thread is the closest thing I found to this subject, but I have additional issues.

Hello,

First post here.

A little background: I've been meditating on and off for around seven years utilizing mostly anapanasati with no formal instruction due to not knowing any better, lack of time, and lack of qualified instructors in my previous area. Recently, my practice has gotten much more serious and I have since done 3 retreats in a four month time-span: 10 days (Body Scans), 7 days (Mahasi-ish), 7 days (Mahasi). Since I started meditating, I noticed that my breathing rate/frequency naturally speeds up and gets more and more shallow when I get very concentrated - I'm not too calm during these periods but my concentration is very strong with distractions hardly affecting me. However, I always end up needing to take a very deep and long breath after around 5 to 10 seconds of this type of breathing.