RE: Thesis Project about Psychosis and Spiritual Awakening

Chris Kammerer, modified 1 Year ago at 1/11/23 2:41 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 1/11/23 2:41 PM

Thesis Project about Psychosis and Spiritual Awakening

Greetings everyone!

My name is Chris Kammerer. I'm a graduate student in the Journalism school at UNC-Chapel Hill. For my thesis project, I'm writing three journalistic pieces about psychosis. The first one looks at the typical Western psychological approach to psychotic disorders and episodes. The second article looks at mysticism--especially Zen--to explore what, if any, overlap there is between mystical experiences and psychotic experiences. For that article, I'm using some of the stories that the Korean Zen master Seung Sahn told about how past Zen masters reached enlightenment. In many of those stories, people behaved in ways that seem very similar to what our culture would call a psychotic episode . A couple ways you could help:
  1. If you yourself have had a psychotic episode, I'd love to interview you. I had a few episodes during my 20s. During my first major episode, Zen teachings both exacerbated some of my delusions and helped me find my way out of them. If this is something you're interested in, I can absolutely keep you anonymous.
  2. If you know of any stories from Zen texts, Dharma talks, or any other sources about people who experienced severe mental distress, hallucinations, or delusions, send em my way. Stories from other traditions are welcome, too. My last article looks at Indigenous shamanic traditions, so connections to any of those communities would be helpful.
  3. I'm looking for meditation teachers who have worked with people experiencing psychosis. Or mental health professionals who have some expertise in this area. If you are one or know of one who would be good for me to talk to, send me their info.
  4. Any other connections, suggestions or leads you have for me, please reach out.