RE: How to format your post

thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 8 Months ago at 7/7/23 2:48 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 1/23/23 2:11 AM

How to format your post

Since I have noticed that many have trouble formatting their posts on this board, I thought it might be helpful to have a thread about formatting issues. Feel free to ask questions about it here or share helpful advice.

I personally find that it's by far easiest to format by using the source button and write the code directly, and I'm not a programmer. In a new thread, the source button is available on the menu. When you reply to a post, you first need to click on advanced reply for the option to show up. 

The code works with square brackets. For instance, with a quote, where the quote begins, you simply write "quote" within square brackets. More details are available if you want to contribute the quote to someone specific, but I'll keep to the basics in this initial post. At the end of the quote, you write the same thing, only with a "/" before the command within the square brackets to mark that the command shall stop. 

If you want to learn the commands, I find that the easiest way is to first just type a message as you normally would (one that does what you want it to do), with the functions you wish to use, and then click on source. Then the commands will show up and you can see exactly how to apply them. You can switch back to the display mode of the text by clicking on the source button again. 

If the formatting of your text is messed up, you can click on the source button to correct the code (for some formatting issues, that seems to be the only way to do it for some strange reason - probably a bug). If your text is too small, for instance, there is some unwanted code there making it small. Removing it takes care of the problem. 

I hope this is helpful.