RE: Deeper Into the Pudding

Decaf Wolf, modified 1 Year ago at 2/2/23 1:42 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 2/2/23 1:42 PM

Deeper Into the Pudding

Hi All! First time posting, please be gentle ; )

I just returned from a 10-day Goenka retreat and feel compelled to share some of what I experienced and see if anyone has any insight on the territory I've landed in post-retreat. I'll try and be as concise as possible and not ramble on too much, so that this doesn't turn into a Russian novel. 

Quick background: I started practicing about 8 years ago, using the Headspace app for 20 or 30 minutes a day. Even in that first "lighter" year of practicing I had some very cool experiences. I suspect I unkowingly crossed the A&P and dropped into a gnarly Dark Night phase without having any idea what was going on. Eventually I did my first 10-day Goenka retreat in 2017 and another in 2020 and was cycling alot through Dark Night territory, again, having no idea what was going on: phases of completely stopping meditation, drinking too much alcohol, almost blew up my marriage a couple times... the classics. 

I quit alcohol in August 2022, and have been practicing diligently every day since then. In November and December I started getting the hang of accessing the Jhanas – the one thing I'll say is that the borders between the 4 states seemed pretty darn fluid to me, it just felt like gradually shifting from an intense, buzzy, blissful feeling, to the feeling of utter calm, presence and equanimity. To put it a little more poetically: the final result felt like I was a heavy golden statue at the bottom of the ocean. In this period I was doing very little Insight practice/ investigations of the three characteristics, mostly just strengthening/ stabilizing attention and dropping in and out of Jhanas.