RE: Kyle’s Practice Log

Kyle T, modified 1 Year ago at 3/6/23 9:27 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 3/6/23 9:27 PM

Kyle’s Practice Log

Hello fellow meditators,

I've been meditating on and off for roughly ten years now but I'd say the last 4-5 years doing a consistent  1-2 hours a day. With the past year averaging probably 16-18 hours a week where some days I may be able to squeeze in 3-4 hours and another day or two I may not get an official sit but just do some noting throughout the day. I've been browsing this site for almost a year and decided it's about time I actually start participating to share my experience and hopefully get some feedback from those more experienced as I've been somewhat frustrated with my progress I suppose you could say. I've got probably close to 2500-2600 hours total of meditation under my belt and am honestly not sure exactly where I stand/how far along I should be since I don't have an actual teacher whose reached stream entry I can talk to regularly. I just finished a 9 day solo home retreat averaging about 10-11 hours of practice a day I'll detail the retreat in another post and go into more detail about it but basically leading up to the retreat I've been going through some somewhat serious Dukkha. Not sure if I'd consider it dark night as I went through much more extreme stuff probably 4 years ago but I could be somewhat of a dark night yogi I suppose so hoping to work through some of that in this practice log! Practice has led me to be able to see the 3 characteristics in about almost every avenue of my life which was a bit debilitating giving me somewhat of the blues of thought processes along the lines of "what's the freaking point if it's just unsatisfactory and impermanence in everything? Why are we stuck in this loop in the first place if there's no reprieve?, do we seriously need something like 10k hours on the cushion and living a perfectly harmonious/wholesome life to make the attainments I read about? How the hell am I suppos