RE: Nick H's Log

Nicholas H, modified 1 Year ago at 3/14/23 4:17 PM
Created 1 Year ago at 3/14/23 4:17 PM

Nick H's Log

Hello friends!

A bit of background, though more can be found here - I've been practicing for 12 years, almost exclusively samatha/anapanasati. While I practiced pretty seriously the first year or two, my practice waxed and waned over the next decade, up until about a year ago, when I started to get serious again. I completed my first retreat last Sunday (3/5), a ten-day Goenka retreat. I got exactly what I was looking for - the ability to discipline myself more and sit longer. Prior to that retreat, the longest I'd sat was 42 minutes, with most being in the 20-30 range.

On top of that, it was very peaceful and provided my first real opportunity to practice vipassana, as well as to see firsthand some cool insights that up until then, I'd only read and intellectualized about. I was surpised at how smoothly it went and am looking forward to doing other retreats.

Where I'm currently at - I'm currently sitting about 1.5 - 2 hours a day. I'd like to push that to 3 - 5. As far as I'm aware, I have no special abilities or talents in meditation, although I constantly get "you're super chill", so that's gotta count for something, right? Based off of Daniel saying in a few podcasts that those who are "seekers" have likely passed the arising and passing away stage at some point in their lives, I'm guessing that may have occured when I was 21, when I went from your average dude to "no I can't hang, I'm doing yoga and trying to figure out meditation" pretty much overnight. Apologies to my best friend whom I'd just moved in with emoticon Other than that, no special meditative prowess really - yet.