Reassurance and / or guidance please!

Areeya M, modified 1 Year ago at 4/11/23 11:47 AM
Created 1 Year ago at 4/11/23 11:20 AM

Reassurance and / or guidance please!

Hi everyone, I've just joined and this is my first post (it's kinda long, sorry about that!), so please go easy on me. I'm very happy to be here, many of you here seem so knowledgeable! Whilst I have been meditating a while (about 10yrs, mainly a few retreats on and off, not much of a formal daily practice but I am aware of my sensate reality a lot of the time) and vaguely consider myself a Buddhist, I'm not massively au fait with some of the langauge, theory and practices etc in the way that many of you seem to be. I have dipped in and out of Daniel's book which has been invaluable at times (if you ever read this, THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!!! Your book has kept me on the right side of sane, I think and hope, more than once). I've joined because I've had some rather profound experiences which both amaze and frighten me so I was hoping for some reassurance that I'm on the right path and if not what I could do differently!

I should probably give some context. I did my first meditation retreat back in 2012 in India. I walked into a Goenka Vipassana retreat cold having never (knowingly) meditated before, and knowing nothing at all about Buddhist teachings. It was a very powerful experience for me as I was able to get very concentrated very quickly, and was deep into (what I now know to be) Jhana and Vipassana territory without knowing anything about it. I used to observe sensations at a very subtle level every night lying in bed as a child and (I realised much later!) also experienced Jhanic states and Vipassana / investigative territory then so maybe that is why. It totally undid me and I couldn't work for about 10 months. I do however consider it to be the best thing that ever happened to me!