Dead zone

Jamys Maayl Oe Mearey, modified 10 Months ago at 5/22/23 8:32 AM
Created 10 Months ago at 5/22/23 8:32 AM

Dead zone

Hi, 

I'm a novice meditator. I recently tried a 10 day solo retreat using a simple method of attending to the breath at the navel and noting / noticing everything that drew my attention from it. 

In fact I probably only spent about 2% of my time attending to the breath as my attention was almost immediately drawn from it at the beginning of every sitting, usually by an emotional object, sometimes irritation but more often joy or happiness; the remainder of sessions were then typically spent bouncing between emotions, with the usual physical sensations thrown in. The emotions, particularly the positive ones, were very intense. 

Then on the 8th day of the retreat a large part of the space where these emotions occur (my chest down to the pit of my belly) seemed to 'turn off' and feelings such as joy ceased. I called this area 'the dead zone', it was like a vacuum inside of me - a slightly unpleasant feeling, but not horrific.

I thought it might be like when an electronic device gets too hot and turns itself off -I had been experiencing very intense emotions for 8 days so the space where these occurred just shut down.

Anyway, a week after the retreat this 'dead zone' remains. I am still experiencing emotions, but faintly and not in my chest or belly. 

I was just wondering if this is a common phenomenon and if anyone has any tips on how to restore life to this zone.

Many thanks,

Jamys
thumbnail
Ni Nurta, modified 10 Months ago at 5/22/23 9:38 AM
Created 10 Months ago at 5/22/23 9:38 AM

RE: Dead zone

Not sure about emotions in my belly. I do not even experience them in my head. Emotions just seem to be.
Maybe brain realized emotions it places in place on your body are not related to this place in body?

That said I am not familiar with emotions being experienced in body...