Beginner Thread - Where am I at?

thumbnail
Eric O, modified 12 Years ago at 12/22/11 1:18 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 12/22/11 1:18 PM

Beginner Thread - Where am I at?

Hello all. Thanks to everyone for everything that's here. It's been fantastic to be a lurker and read things on here.

A little background about me. I've been practicing "mindfulness" for a few months now, and picked up MCTB about a month ago and finished it up about a week or two ago. I'm putting it to work. I've been sitting between 0.5-1 hour a day, usually once, but sometimes twice, for the past few weeks. Almost always watching the breath. One hour sittings are really tough - I don't think I've developed my concentration sufficiently to get as much out of these because the distractions get to be too much. I'm trying to build up to a few hours a day before I go to my first 10day Goenka retreat in mid March.

Here's about the best sit I've had. I sat for 15 minutes and did a metta practice while dinner cooked. About an hour later, I sat down with a fair amount of energy and determination, and really was intent on noting and seeing the 3 characteristics. Strangely, I was on the waning periods of a cold, so I had a cough at the time. I started out focusing on my breath, but soon switched to a point in the back of my throat that would normally have made me cough, but I just watched it. It was pretty intense, so I think that helped my concentration. If I had strayed, I think I would have coughed.