Equanimity or...?

Sam Crabtree, modified 12 Years ago at 12/27/11 11:29 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 12/25/11 8:41 AM

Equanimity or...?

I am new to the concept of mapping and (for better or worse) trying to get a little sense of where I could be (while also observing how quickly such thoughts imbalance my mind by applying too much importance to goals and progress on the path).

A quick summary of my history of practice:
My formal practice began Fall 2010 with a 10-day Goenka retreat. Prior to this I had spent ten to fifteen years (since I was an adolescent) with an intellectual appreciation (and - so I thought - "understanding") of Buddhist philosophy, but very limited meditation practice. [As a side note, perhaps important: having now begun to read Ingram's book and description of the stages, I may very well have spent those years already in the DN.] Back to my current practice...
That first retreat was the most challenging thing I've done in my life and I believe I sat through deeper pain than I'd ever previously experienced anywhere (everything from the feeling of knives piercing my spine, to knees and hips tearing apart, to my head imploding). The sensations came very quickly and intensely for me: a constant barrage of severely unpleasant gross sensations over a cacophony of intense subtle sensations of varying frequency. There were many emotional breakdowns of both low and high extremes. For the most part I kept almost entirely to the schedule of 10-12hrs a day sitting. Things gradually became somewhat easier toward the end and upon learning metta practice, I felt like I was an explosion of radiant love energy. I left the course feeling lighter than I ever had in my life and attributed it to flushing out past sankharas - essentially, I thought - the equivalent of years of therapy in 10-days. I had an immediate feeling that I'd found my path. I left the retreat and a week later was back to work a course as a server.