Christian's Concentration Practice Thread

thumbnail
Christian Vlad, modified 12 Years ago at 1/3/12 12:35 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/3/12 12:35 PM

Christian's Concentration Practice Thread

I finally got around to opening my own practice thread, being inspired by some of the other great threads like Rasheds'.

Just as a short overview, I have been doing formal concentration practice for a few months now (maybe 4, but I am not really counting), doing mostly 40-60 min sits in the morning and a few extra sits when I get the time. I do the good old anapanasati (breath awareness) and have tried some kasina practice as well. Still, I somehow feel drawn to the breath as meditation object, so I just stick with it.

I don't think I have reached any states of high concentration yet (i.e. jhanas), at least not for longer than a few seconds. Once, I had a feeling of a very strong upsurge in the body all of a sudden, and a different time my body felt kinda distorted (like my head was way up and the rest of the body very long), followed by a feeling of spinning/slight dizziness. Other than those very rare incidents, it's usually always the same though: trying to stay aware of the breath, thoughts dragging me away, pain in the shoulders, feet getting numb etc.

Recently, I have tried to follow End In Sights recommendations of trying to generate pleasure as the foremost goal, and focusing more on relaxation than on supertight concentration on the breath.