Multiple questions :)

Ian Andersen, modified 12 Years ago at 1/12/12 11:28 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/12/12 11:21 PM

Multiple questions :)

Been reading for a while now, decided to ask some questions after tonight's sit.

I've been practicing off and on for 7 years or so. The last two months I've been really dedicated to my practice, not missing a day. More recently it's gotten even more intense and I've begun to really believe that awakening in various forms are possible, not just for those people I read about, but for me as well. As such, I've been practicing with joyful exertion about 2 hours a day and recently got back from a 5 day retreat. I've mostly been doing concentration practice in order to better prepare my mind for insight practice.

Tonight during a one-hour sit, I noticed I had trouble letting my breath "just be." I have asthma and have been increasingly aware of how much that interferes with my practice, as I sometimes feel intense anxiety or panic when I start to lose sense of my breath and often feel the need to take a deep breath, which is very distracting. I've tried letting the anxiety be as well and relaxing into it and it seems to help a bit, but eventually I lose out and have to take a deep breath. Any tips?

Second question, tonight I also noticed that when I breathe, I have a tightness in the solar plexus area, as I was rather concentrated at this point, I decided to move my attention to that area and rest there. At first when I breathed out, it felt as if intense energy shot up my back to the top of my head, not unpleasant, just intense. Then after a bit, my entire stomach felt like it was energetically vibrating, (it didn't feel like a physical vibration, but had an energetic quality, not sure how else to describe it). Any idea what was going on here?