HELP

douglas wayne pennington, modified 14 Years ago at 12/11/09 10:29 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 12/11/09 10:29 AM

HELP

Hello people, Im new to meditation and I just read some post info on this site about the dark night and it got me alittle scared I must say. I know this is the path I need to follow but can any one help me calm my nerves. By the was I just started reading Jack Kornfield book-A PATH WITH HEART which I heard mentioned on buddhist geeks I think.
Susan Law, modified 14 Years ago at 12/11/09 3:23 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 12/11/09 3:19 PM

RE: HELP

douglas wayne pennington:
Hello people, Im new to meditation and I just read some post info on this site about the dark night and it got me alittle scared I must say. I know this is the path I need to follow but can any one help me calm my nerves. By the was I just started reading Jack Kornfield book-A PATH WITH HEART which I heard mentioned on buddhist geeks I think.

You don't really say in what way you are disturbed, or which post made you so - but just in general, no path is completely easy. Besides, each person is different, and how 'dark' your night is/will be is impossible to know in advance. There are two things that are clear to me, though:

1. The goal of a good path is far better than what will happen if you don't take such a path - no matter what you have to go through; this is kind of a backwards way of saying that the result is worth however much darkness there is.

2. Wise guidance of some sort is really important, because it's easy to create trouble for yourself. So use all the assistance you can get. From this point of view, asking your question was a really good idea.