Another person wanting to know what the eff just happened

thumbnail
Fitter Stoke, modified 12 Years ago at 1/24/12 1:59 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/24/12 1:59 PM

Another person wanting to know what the eff just happened

Hi. I’m new to DhO, and I need some feedback and direction.

I’ve read MCTB up through the vipassana nanas. I watched the talk Daniel Ingram did at Cheetah House on the nanas. I’ve read some of the threads on here but by no means all of them. I relate to a lot of it, but I’m still pretty confused.

I’ve been meditating daily for about two and a half months now. I took an MBSR class and liked the effect a lot. I decided to look deeper into vipassana, and that led me to MCTB and intensification of my effort. This has been going on a few weeks now, and there are some weird things that have happened – both good and bad – and I need some help sorting them out and deciding which direction to go next.

A little bit of background on me: I began experiencing depersonalization (DP) as a kid. At first it was just a weird experience, but by adolescence it had become powerful and frightening. I took a lot of hallucinogens in late-adolescence which produced some very powerful depersonalization. I stopped taking hallucinogens in my late-teens, but I think all the DP pushed me into philosophy, especially existential phenomenology. I would occasionally get DP, but only when smoking pot. I haven’t had a non-drug-induced episode of it since I was a teen – that is, before today.