Seeking a teacher

Sean Lindsay, modified 12 Years ago at 1/24/12 6:14 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/24/12 6:14 PM

Seeking a teacher

I had the good fortune to speak with Daniel Ingram Sunday morning on a conference call, and he recommended that I find a teacher to work with, suggesting that perhaps you all might be a good resource for recommendations.

So I'd welcome ideas or suggestions.

Here's what I imagine a potential teacher might want to know about a potential student:

I'm a 49-year-old lawyer, husband and father (with children still at home) living in the suburbs south of Denver, Colorado in the US. I originally became interested in contemplative practices through the discovery of yoga more than a decade ago. When I began experimenting with it, I was surprised to discover that yoga opened spiritual experiences to me at least as much as it did physical ones. Since that time, I've practiced yoga consistently 3-7 days a week for 60-90 minutes. About ten years ago, I became interested in deepening the yoga practice, and I experimented with a sitting meditation practice. At about the same time, I ran across Jack Kornfield's A Path With Heart, and followed the noting instructions he provides. I found the experience fascinating, if difficult to practice for very long at a time. As I continued to practice, my tolerance for the physical discomfort of sitting increased, and I began a more serious sitting practice. Since then, I've maintained a relatively consistent sitting practice of 5-7 days/week, 35-50 minutes per session. My practice has generally been consistently vipassana in what I've come to understand to be the Mahasi Sayadaw approach, though I read dharma books voraciously, and I find a lot of value in Zen teachings, as well as vipassana materials.