Is there a practice for concentration where the mind is the subject?

Cammil Taank, modified 12 Years ago at 1/28/12 6:18 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/28/12 6:16 AM

I have been reading a book from buddhanet.net called 3 Teach. It appears that mostly the author practices deity (Chenrenzig) meditation, which I do not really know much about. I myself have been practising mindfulness/breath meditation.

One thing that did get me thinking however, was a phrase "... just observe the mind without distraction."

I wondered if this would be a good focus. It definitely seems different to focusing on the breath. I tried it momentarily and found an immediate quieting of the mind - though this may just be the beginner effect.

I wondered if anyone here had considered or practised a similar thing and whether you would recommend it.

I feel like I am just starting out by the way. I am not sure if I have reached A&P, but I regularly meditate around 30 minutes each evening.

Best wishes,

Cammil
thumbnail
josh r s, modified 12 Years ago at 1/28/12 8:48 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 1/28/12 8:47 AM

RE: Is there a practice for concentration where the mind is the subject?