Getting stuck just before Jhana states

Jim W, modified 12 Years ago at 2/8/12 6:05 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 2/8/12 6:05 AM

Getting stuck just before Jhana states

Hi all, newbie here ! I have been sitting in earnest for about 18 months (and on and off for a few years prior to this). I sit for 30 minutes every day (apart from the odd day when I have been too ill / travelling). I sit with the Samatha Trust in the UK and have an excellent and very experienced teacher.

I have got to the stage where I can get to access concentration in 5 /10 minutes (start with a bit of counting, then following breath, then placing awareness on nostrils / abdomen). I have experienced a Jhana state once and have had pitti/sukka coming through a bit on other occasions. I get to access then either get eye/headache (over-focusing?) or just stay at access for a bit then loose concentration.

My teacher recommended trying to 'let go' at access and/or use metta for a bit to try to prevent over focus. I know that wanting jhana can prevent it (as desire hindrance arises), so I try to have the view of letting go when I sit (I do though have a little nagging voice that says 'maybe this is it' at access). Has anyone experienced similar problems /found ways of getting through (dropping!) this ?

Many thanks and much metta.

Jim
thumbnail
Tommy M, modified 12 Years ago at 2/8/12 7:27 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 2/8/12 7:27 AM

RE: Getting stuck just before Jhana states

Hiya Jim, welcome to the DhO.

I get to access then either get eye/headache (over-focusing?) or just stay at access for a bit then loose concentration.