So many questions!

Jake Evan Harrell, modified 12 Years ago at 2/22/12 10:11 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 2/22/12 10:11 PM

So many questions!

I'd like to first say that I am somewhat new to insight practices, or so I feel. I was first introduced in 08 on a 10 day goenka course but It wasn't until taking my 3rd course just a few weeks ago that I gave it a fair shot. Since then I have read Mastering the Core teachings of buddah and found this wonderful forum. I realize I've written a lot on my first posting but I would appreciate so much anyone who reads through it and attempts to help clarify some things for me. Sorry for any needless words and know that I have many more questions and things I'd like to say but this is enough for now.

My first question is can you practice insight meditation without deliberately focusing on the 3 characteristics? In other words, can the realization/seeing the 3 characteristics happen as a byproduct of something like high levels of focus or pure awareness?