First 'different' experience - thoughts?

thumbnail
Greg H, modified 12 Years ago at 3/15/12 1:44 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 3/15/12 1:01 PM

First 'different' experience - thoughts?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post, so I just wanted to thank all the people here for coming together and participating in a place like this - Every time I read something here I learn more.

Anyways, I am a beginner to formal meditation practice and I am pretty excited to be starting formal practice.

Quick notes :
1. I am going at this alone, as no one I know is even remotely interested in taking this journey with me.
2. As far as I know, there is not meditation group where I live, but I will keep searching.
3. The closest thing to teach I have are books. I am on my second read through of MCTB, and have been reading most of the recommended books from there. So please bear with my unguided and uninformed descriptions.

I will try to limit the "OH MAN THIS AMAZING THING JUST HAPPENED" moments, but as I am new at this; everything is amazing, or scary, and sometimes both.

So I am not yet trying to develop insight, as I want to hone my concentration abilities first. Since I am going at this pretty independently, I figure good concentration will help me in the long run.

Last night feels like it was one of my most productive sits, and I will try to describe what happened as best as I can. Any advice or insight it to where I might be or what happened would be very much appreciated.

I set my timer for 20 mins and began to relax and bring my focus to my breath. I started counting the breath cycles on the pause between the in and out breaths, restarting every time I became distracted. I restarted a lot. Nearing the end of the 20 mins, I started to feel drowsy, but I kept bringing my attention to my breath whenever I drifted into thought - when the timer went off, I resolved to continue sitting.