What steps can I take to further my studies and practice?

thumbnail
Elle Francis Gee, modified 12 Years ago at 3/31/12 12:37 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 3/31/12 12:37 AM

What steps can I take to further my studies and practice?

I just found this forum and am so overwhelmed with all of the options! I am in the process of reading Dan Ingram's book 'Mastering,' and am in love. Although I am still in the intro, I think this is exactly the book I have been searching for!

I apologize in advance if my post sounds ridiculous. I am not very good with people sometimes... Social skills don't some too naturally to me. My nature is introverted to some extent so I sometimes have problems interactive with others just because I don't communicate too terribly often.

I have been practicing Buddhism very heavily for a few years now. I believe that I entered the Dark Night phase over this past summer. Something clicked within me that is almost completely verbally indescribable. I reached a point now where I don't know what to do without a mentor, teacher or community. I have reached out to several established Buddhists and am cast aside for the most part. Perhaps my questions are coming out wrong and/or they are just too busy.

I would like to go on a retreat or venture off to a location that is more Buddhist friendly, but am financially unable to do so. I am unable to work currently. I am not presently attending school. I have no ties to my location. I consider myself a professional wanderer. I have been couch hopping for about a year. I have lost my belongings several times in my life and believe that not having anyone to fall back on is what pushed my passion over the edge (along with the realization of several destructive cycles I was and am making in my life- but I did and still am working on ending them).