access concentration

goba g gobasson, modified 14 Years ago at 1/11/10 6:33 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 1/11/10 6:33 AM

access concentration

Hello everybody!

According to Jack kornfield, Daniel Ingram and i'm sure others as well, access concentration is the minimum requirement in order to progress with insight practices. On page 137 in a Path With Heart, Jack kornfield writes:

"In access concentration we become merged and attentive in our meditation, so that a powerful shift of consciousness occurs and clarity, ease and concentration all begin to flow into our practice."

I feel i'm getting nowhere in my practice (I have not yet attained "mind and body"-nana). I've have not yet experienced this "powerful shift in consciousness" that jack kornfield writes about and i'm wondering if this is my problem.

How long does it take to develop accesss concentration? I've been practicing almost every day (maybe 30 minutes) for 5 months switching between shamata and vipassana (i've been mostly doing shamata).

Best regards
Anaj
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 14 Years ago at 1/12/10 12:24 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 1/12/10 12:24 AM

RE: access concentration (Answer)

goba g gobasson:

I feel i'm getting nowhere in my practice (I have not yet attained "mind and body"-nana). I've have not yet experienced this "powerful shift in consciousness" that jack kornfield writes about and i'm wondering if this is my problem.

How long does it take to develop access concentration? I've been practicing almost every day (maybe 30 minutes) for 5 months switching between shamata and vipassana (i've been mostly doing shamata).

Be patient, goba. And keep practicing as you have been, focusing on samatha.

Access concentration doesn't take that long to develop. It just depends on what you do with it once you realize that you have achieved it.