Fresh off 10day retreat. What was this experience?

thumbnail
Anthony D, modified 14 Years ago at 1/11/10 3:14 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 1/11/10 3:04 PM

Fresh off 10day retreat. What was this experience?

Hi everyone,
Sorry about the long post and thanks for any input,

I just got back from a 10 day Goenka Vipassana Retreat (my second retreat, first vipassana).
Overall it was a great experience and a wonderful help on the path. I may write about the details of the retreat in the appropriate category later.

For now I am really interested in understanding a few experiences that I had while in retreat.

First of all I want to let 3 things be clear.
1) I have read Daniel Ingram’s book- although I have not committed everything to memory yet ;)
2) I understand that these really cool experiences are themselves impermanent and are possible sources of attachment and can become a deterrent to diligently practicing the path.
3) I have been studying Buddhism for several years and I understand quite a few things conceptually but I am a very novice practitioner when I comes to direct experiences and understandings.

So we started the retreat with 3 days of strengthening our concentration before moving into Vipassana for the remaining 7 days. On the morning of the 3rd day when I was objectively focusing on the breath as it comes in and out (Anapana) and also having a few wandering thoughts, I experienced a very different state of being. All of a sudden my sense of the normal parameters of my body shifted. My sense of my body felt as it I was stretched out really tall. Like I was 100s of feet above everything but still connected to my body sitting cross legged on the ground. At other times I felt as if I was a shadow that was stretched out in front of myself and sometimes as if my head was right where it was but the rest of my body was stretched 100 feet underneath me.