Where abouts am I?

Michael C, modified 12 Years ago at 4/13/12 8:00 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 4/13/12 8:00 AM

Where abouts am I?

Hello!

I'm looking for a bit of assistance or verification to get a sense of where I am on the maps. A few weeks back I discovered one of the nastiest tricks the ego can play is to convince you it doesn't exist. That bubble popped and I lost my drive to practice for a while. My current state is that I simultaneously feel confused and like everything is okay and I can just keep going. I have a vague sense that there would be some benefit to figuring out where I'm at so I can level set and move on.

Background - I've been meditating inconsistently for ~6 months. Prior to this little break I was doing 20/30 minutes a day of insight practice using noting. There are two things which have been a constant nagging factor. 1 - I'm diagnosed ADHD inattentive type and on psycho-stimulants (concerta, 27mg) 2 - My interest in meditation came from a chain of events starting with psychedelic experiences. I noticed drugs are mentioned in the Dharma diagnosis thread which puts that fear basically to rest, it sounds like I crossed the arising and passing away during a trip and that kicked this whole thing off. My concern with the conerta is related to the idea of artificial concentration being not suited for the job at hand.

Present - Here are the notes from my last sit (this morning, 25 minutes)

Started with breath counting from 1-10 for five cycles
Staying with the breath is almost effortless, small thoughts bubble up in the pause between breath but they seem in the background and don't interrupt the counting
I notice the body settling and relaxing
After completing the 5th counting cycle I shift focus to my belly and start noting
Mind is quiet except for the notes
There is calm and contentedness
An internal hum arises, unsure of what to note it I observe it
the hum passes and I go back to noting the breath