Please point me in the right direction

Tim Lamar Marshall, modified 11 Years ago at 4/30/12 12:42 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 4/30/12 12:42 AM

Please point me in the right direction

Hi, all

I'm new here. Out of desperation, I went looking for help and found this board. Maybe you can help?

I have been meditating on and off for four years. I would stop meditating out of frustration, then take it up again to try some new technique. All of my training was Zen. I don't think there is any maps in zen. They're all about, "just sit." It was good for a time. It helped me for a time, especially with controlling emotions. I think I'm ready for something more. I have read some of the post here and am excited that there is a way for me to track my progress (map(s)).

Would someone please refer me to a book or a teacher ( in or near Long Beach, Calif.)? Your help is very appreciated.
thumbnail
wacky jacky, modified 11 Years ago at 4/30/12 2:26 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 4/30/12 2:25 AM

RE: Please point me in the right direction

Hi Tim. A great book to read is Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha (referred to as MCTB on this website) written by Daniel Ingram. He is the guy who set up this website. It's available as a free down-load here

http://www.interactivebuddha.com/mctb.shtml

On the above webpage is also a short instruction sheet for insight meditation which you'd probably find extremely helpful.

You can ask buy also the book on amazon, or you can read it part by part from the wiki page on this website. (just click on the "wiki" tab at the top of this webpage).

Good luck. Jacki.
thumbnail
Michael Cannon, modified 11 Years ago at 5/20/12 4:57 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/20/12 4:57 PM

Hello Tim,