Starting Up Questions

thumbnail
Michael Cannon, modified 11 Years ago at 5/18/12 10:02 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/17/12 4:21 PM

Starting Up Questions

Hello, I'm more or less posting to
1.) Try to get a feel for it, as I've never done this before.
2.) Establish my arrival, as I'm new here.
3.) Express that there's SO MUCH material on here it's a little overwhelming, and maybe find out how to get started.

I am new practitioner with an average of 30 minutes a day for the last eight months. I've been sitting zazen but I like the explicit categorization of the Mahasi Sayadaw maps.

I'm sorry to ask questions that've probably been answered a million times, but with so much material to sift through, well, you know.

Anyone switch from Zen to this Thervada style?

Anyone do both? There's a comfortability I have with Zen that I enjoy (could be attached to.) I associate with the straight back discipline, the minimalism, koans, etc. and I've always wanted to sit Sesshin.

Any starter points for someone who really wants to:

>develop concentration, and does a ten breath count
>can devote an hour a day for right now,
>still breaks out in childish temper tantrums when his knees go numb or has difficulty focusing
>has had (1) That Was Weird and (3) Holy Crap I Stayed On Top of My Breath the Whole Time!

I also apologize for being another white male with a receding hairline, but what can you do.

Thanks much,
Mike Cannon
thumbnail
katy steger,thru11615 with thanks, modified 11 Years ago at 5/18/12 4:49 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/18/12 4:47 AM

RE: Starting Up Questions

Hi Michael,

Welcome to the Dho.

First, I have no authorization to teach and I am not offering this, so please consider my comments (if you do) as thoughts from a peer who practices and that your urge to go to sesshin/retreat is a useful in many regards, not least that it should place you in the company of a teacher with an authorization to teach that you can both question and satisfy to your confidence.