Goin' Off To My First 10 Day Retreat. Advice?

thumbnail
Alan Smithee, modified 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 12:30 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 12:30 AM

Goin' Off To My First 10 Day Retreat. Advice?

Hello all,

In a few weeks I'm heading off for my first 10 meditation retreat at the Goenka center in Pecatonica, IL. I've been going to undergraduate and graduate school for eleven years and have just graduated a few weeks back, so with this retreat I'm hoping to begin the committed regular practice punctuated by yearly retreats which I've been unable to achieve in my life up to this point...

A little context: I've read Dan's book. I've read numerous texts on Vipassana practice, including some by Mahasi Sayadaw. I have some limited experience with Shinkantaza, concentration, and noting practice. I'm interested in working my way through the paths of insight.

Anyone have any advice to help me make this the most productive meditation retreat I can possibly make it?

Also, I'd welcome advice or insights about the logistics and/or everyday life of being on a Goenka retreat.

Thanks!
thumbnail
Alan Smithee, modified 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 12:39 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 12:39 AM

RE: Goin' Off To My First 10 Day Retreat. Advice?

Note: I've found this

http://thehamiltonproject.blogspot.com/2010/11/going-for-stream-entry-on-goenka-10-day.html#!/2010/11/going-for-stream-entry-on-goenka-10-day.html

and this

http://www.evolver.net/user/vincenz0h/blog/how_survive_10_day_goenka_vipassana_course

If anyone wishes to comment on any of the advice or comments on these sites, I'd be interested to hear them as well...
thumbnail
Nikolai , modified 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 1:07 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 1:07 AM

Alan Smithee:
Note: I've found this

http://thehamiltonproject.blogspot.com/2010/11/going-for-stream-entry-on-goenka-10-day.html#!/2010/11/going-for-stream-entry-on-goenka-10-day.html

and this