Any Christian Mystics Out There?

thumbnail
Mike Knapp, modified 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 4:27 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 4:19 PM

Any Christian Mystics Out There?

Hey Fellows,

I'm wondering if we have any yogis out there who are interested in or are actually practicing any forms of Christian mysticism of the sort described by Saint John of the Cross, Saint Theresa of Avila, Saint Ignacious of Loyola, etc.?

I've had a spiritual experience recently with an entity I choose to call God. This is a little surprising since my background is in Zen and Vipassana.

The Christian mystical traditions seem to be where God and insight meditation kiss (so to speak).

I'm looking for some general guidance, input, comments, whatever on this topic. Thanks, Everybody!
thumbnail
Tommy M, modified 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 5:57 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 5/29/12 5:56 PM

RE: Any Christian Mystics Out There?

Sorry to interrupt, but I wanted to comment on this:

Mike:
I've had a spiritual experience recently with an entity I choose to call God. This is a little surprising since my background is in Zen and Vipassana.

It may not be so surprising if you consider that what you "choose to call God" can also be conceptualized, without resorting to anthropomorphization, as all manner of different religious or spiritual metaphors. "God" is just one label, albeit a rather pervasive one in spiritual models, for an experience which could be characterized as "unitive", "holy", "divine" or other such descriptions depending on one's background, religious upbringing and social conditioning.