What to make of this experience?

Robot Foo, modified 11 Years ago at 6/4/12 11:34 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 6/4/12 11:34 AM

What to make of this experience?

Hello,

I am new to this site, as I am fairly new to meditation. I have meditated on several occasions but never sticked with the practice.

Some months ago, something intriguing happened to me. I was at home, quietly meditating, not particularly focused, and a word came to my mind. I immediately got a strong sensation that the word was not coming from me, at least not from my conscious self.

I will not tell which word it was for the moment, since I do not feel confortable to do so. But anyway, the word was unfamiliar to me. I knew the word existed, but was not sure of its meaning, so I had to look it up on a dictionary. The word is one of mystical nature.

Days went by and as I thought about it, I lost my initial sensation that the word didn't came from me, and turned in favor of the explanation that I probably had unconsciously heard it before, and that it just happened to arise in a moment where I was very relaxed and more in touch with my subconscious.

Then a few days later, I was on a shopping mall eating a lunch, and happened to browse the wifi networks with my phone, to check if I could get some free internet. To my astonishing one of the networks was named with that exact word. And again I got a strong sensation that the word didn't came from me, and that the wifi network name proved it, since I obviously have no control of what people name their networks.

A few facts that keep me thinking about this: the word is fairly uncommon; it has a mystical meaning; I never browsed the wifi networks at that place before, so it is completely impossible for my unconscious to have picked it up there; the strong sensation I got twice that the word was not coming from me.