Jhana? Or A&P Event?

thumbnail
C Wilson, modified 11 Years ago at 6/28/12 3:35 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 6/4/12 9:48 PM

Jhana? Or A&P Event?

In January, I had a meditation experience that I've been trying to wrap my head around ever since. After it happened, I did some Internet research and came to the conclusion I'd reached some sort of "Jhana." I've been reading "Mastering the Core Teachings" the past few weeks and I'm starting to question that original diagnosis.

At the time, I had been practicing in Shambalah-style Samatha Vipassana for about four months ... strict focus on the breath as an object. I was about 20 minutes into my sit one night when I decided to turn my attention to my body, something I'd never really done before. It went well. Real slow at first, then I became aware of the fact that I could perceive physical sensations as a very quick flicker. I made a conscious decision to just sit in this flicker, almost "surrender" to it.

My wife had been watching TV next door, so I'd been loosely conscious of the sounds from the other room. For whatever reason, I was paying attention to the sound from the TV for a particular second, and I noticed a very perceptible slowing down of the music and words. Like a record grinding to a halt. Warped and shuttered.