Trouble with jhanas, need answers

Micheal Kush, modified 11 Years ago at 6/6/12 8:57 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 6/6/12 8:57 PM

Trouble with jhanas, need answers

I've been meditating for a couple months now usually developing metta and mindfulness of breathing meditation. Recently, i have attempted to gain concentration by focusing on my breath following through the nostrils. So far as i became more successful, there would arise a subtle calmness and my forehead would sort of get little warm and ive noticed from reading many threads that this is a sign close to entering acess concentration. What is that i should do to induce rapture or bliss? Also, as i became aware of this sensation, i became sceptical of its occurrence because i didnt want to deiceive myself into thinking it was jhana if it wasnt. And it must be noted that my breath becomes quite shallow after this point. So, what can i do to progress forward.

And out of curiousity because i have never expierenced jhana snd became fascinated by the supreme bliss that is articulated, is the bliss really so enduring and pleasurable that it almost out do's everything?? One post i readsaid that it surpassed ohyscadelics and other things, can you please tell me your input of these expierences?

Thanks, Mike
End in Sight, modified 11 Years ago at 6/7/12 9:44 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 6/7/12 6:14 AM

RE: Trouble with jhanas, need answers

Micheal Kush:
So far as i became more successful, there would arise a subtle calmness and my forehead would sort of get little warm and ive noticed from reading many threads that this is a sign close to entering acess concentration. (...) And out of curiousity because i have never expierenced jhana snd became fascinated by the supreme bliss that is articulated, is the bliss really so enduring and pleasurable that it almost out do's everything?? One post i readsaid that it surpassed ohyscadelics and other things, can you please tell me your input of these expierences?

Hi Mike,