Yet another A&P Inquiry

thumbnail
Brian K, modified 11 Years ago at 6/15/12 11:19 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 6/15/12 8:31 AM

Yet another A&P Inquiry

Until today I hadn't really entertained the fact that i may have crossed the A&P at some point in my life and not realized it, but on a previous post it was pointed out to me that i might have. So I'll give a brief background here of what i think may have happened and maybe you guys can help me decide if I've gotten over the A&P or not.

First of all, I've been meditating for about 11 months now. For the first probably 6 or 7, i was very unfocused about it, doing this and that, for some of the time i hadnt even been introduced to buddhist meditation yet. Also i went to a meditation class for a while and i was given what i believe to have been pretty poor, unfocused instruction. So for the past couple of months after reading MTCB I've been focusing on shamatha practices, trying to get myself into jhana to start insight practices from. I haven't yet been successful. It was because of a recent post where i asked for help because my concentration was getting poor that someone said maybe ive crossed the A&P.

I can't really remember any specific like, first A&P event, or anything like that where i had a spiritual experience and my life changed. As for the duhkka nanas, i may very well have been in them for a long time, i can relate. I'm a recovering drug addict, so yeah unsatisfactoriness has pretty much been my M.O. for a long time. I think this might signal an ongoing dark night. Daniel Ingram also cited AA/NA meetings as a place where he believes alot of people have crossed the A&P end up, which i previously thought as well and gives me more reason to suspect.