Stuck in an unknown state

Ioannis Angelopoulos, modified 11 Years ago at 8/5/12 12:58 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 8/5/12 12:58 PM

Stuck in an unknown state

Dear All,

First of all I would like to thank you all in advance for reading this. I don't really know where to start, so excuse any incompleteness in this or any structural weirdness.

I will try to be brief and condensed. I have praticed concentration and meditation exercises for quite some time now (more than a decade). Initially I had started with magickal traditions and recently (about 4 years ago) I discovered Buddhism and Yoga. I started with Yogananda tradition and recently (about a year ago) I discovered Dzogchen in the teachings of Namkhai Norbu and Ngakpa Chögyam of the Nyingma Tibetan Tradition and I was stunned. I am a physicist by profession and Dzogchen teaching of the mind were the closest thing to Quantum Neuroscience I have ever read. I entered into the system and start practicing Shi-Ne meditation. Yet Lhatong and the further states of Nyi-mèd and Lhundrüp, even though immensely fascinating, they seem completely out of my reach (and understanding). Searching as usual around the net, I discovered the 'Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha' - which I think it is one of the most practical books on the way to enlightenment I have ever read - and decided to see where I am according to this excelent roadmap and maybe take some steps again from the begining.

So, I think I am stuck in a weird situation even before the first Jhana (?) and I would please for your help and guidance.
First of all I can be in a thought-free state for long periods of time (more than one hour for sure). By 'thoughts' I mean, verbal and non-verbal ones, emotions, basically everything but NOT sensations. What I mean is that I have no thoughts but I can hear the sound of the bird singing outside extremelly well.