Going for Stream Entry at 60-Day Panditarama Retreat. Help!!!

thumbnail
Ryan Jaidsedha Burton, modified 11 Years ago at 8/13/12 11:52 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 8/13/12 11:31 PM

Going for Stream Entry at 60-Day Panditarama Retreat. Help!!!

Hey Everyone!

Should I go for Stream Entry at Panditarama? or stay at Pa Auk Forest Monastery to develop Jhana?

Background.

Any advice would seriously help!!! I've been practicing meditation for 2 years. My name is Ryan and I'm about to turn 20. I've done a 10day Goenka retreat and a 90 day retreat with Wat Phra Dhammakaya beginning in Jan of this year. I wouldn't say that the 90 day was a waste of time, but I definitely would've made more progress at a silent retreat practicing Anapanasati or Insight meditation. However attending a 90-day retreat looks awesome on your registration app! I'm sure it's what granted me acceptance into the 60-day Panditarama retreat. I know how much intensity I can handle and what my limitations are due to experimentation with psychedelics (bad trips) and having an NDE earlier in my youth. I've done Insight practices at a Goenka retreat a year before going on the 90-day in Thailand. Surprisingly my mind had becoming more still, serene, & sharp during the Silent 10-day than the entire 90-day period in Thailand. On the 10-day retreat within the first day I began feeling sensations around my nostrils and by the 3rd I felt every inch of my body vibrating. I was having full blown Wake-Induced Lucid Dreams and for 2 nights I slept for just a couple hours. I dropped Vipassana practice after that retreat because I convinced myself that the retreat conditions were the sole reason for my incredible experience and that without them my practice was useless. I have not attained first jhana but wish to do so. However I've found that my mind is much more quiet, still and luminous when I let my attention collapse back in on itself. When I don't place my attention anywhere thought ceases, mental chattering falls