Practice Log Aiming for 1st Jhana, Stream Entry & Beyond

thumbnail
Ryan Jaidsedha Burton, modified 11 Years ago at 8/17/12 7:19 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 8/17/12 7:19 AM

Practice Log Aiming for 1st Jhana, Stream Entry & Beyond

Welcome DhO!

Any input will help and is greatly appreciated emoticon

I'll be updating this practice log quite often. It's going to be a daily account of my practice from now until I've become fully liberated. It'll be full of nonsense like accounts of dreams and out-of-body experiences. Mainly it will be a way for me to see the progression and pit falls of my practice.

Background Info:
I've been meditating for a couple years on/off. However, now I'm taking my practice seriously. I've done 2 retreats. A 10-day Goenka & a 90-day with Wat Phra Dhammakaya. I'm currently practicing Vipassana observing sensations at the Anapana spot. I'm aiming for stream entry and mastery of first Jhana as my current goals. I'm a California LMT (Licensed Massage Therapist) in an apprenticeship with a Taoist healer. The training I'll be doing with him emphasizes the development of psychic powers for the purpose of healing others. I'll be documenting the unfolding of those practices and attainments once I have returned to Los Angeles. Right now I'm in Bangkok, Thailand and I'll be heading east to the city of Khoen Kaen to stay with a family friend. I'll be in retreat mode at the end of Sept. preparing for a 60-day silent stay at Panditarama that starts on Dec. 1st. I have a Goenka retreat in mid Oct. and another one in mid Nov. I'll be staying at Panditarama in silence for 4 months max. I'm sure that's plenty of time to attain SE and get a strong foothold in the 1st Samatha Jhana as foundation for the Taoist training I'll be going through in the future.

Khoen Kaen Retreat Prep Schedule

3:00am Wake Up
3:20am-4:00am Standing Meditation
4:00am-5:00am Meditation
5:30am-6:00am Breakfast
6:00am-7:00am Meditation
7:00am-7:30am Stretch & Walk