Jhanas getting easier, ingisht getting harder

thumbnail
Nick P, modified 11 Years ago at 8/25/12 1:02 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 8/25/12 1:02 PM

Jhanas getting easier, ingisht getting harder

Hi,
sorry I'm asking so many questions at once, it's been a while since I last posted and many doubts on how to continue have been arising for a while. Feel free to pick your favorite question from below and answer just that one emoticon

My background
I started practicing around mid March, always having samatha as my aim as I consider vipassana to be harder to grasp and without a good samatha foundation. So in early May I crossed the A&P without intending it, in one of my sittings where I was actually looking for first jhana. Until then I hadn't accessed any jhana at all.

Since then all through May, through a lot of hard work, I was able to access jhanas 1-3, the higher the softer, always laboriousy and with little consistency. As the DN started to set in my sleep schedule got a bit messed up which in turn messed up my concentration and my practice schedule... couldn't access the jhanas again until late July.

At that point I think I was in low EQ, with most of the crap from the DN still there but not caring too much about it. Now I think I might be in high EQ as all the DN stuff disappeared, I'm feeling happier and more peaceful about life, sleep schedule is more manageable, getting to sit is easier and concentration is improving. On the other hand, I feel like I'm back to square one as all the fireworks from the A&P and the DN frustration disappeared, so in many regards I feel like a "normal human being" again, like before taking up meditation. Can anyone relate to this?

Now the questions, underlined

First of all, how come I'm progressing through the stages of insight if I always sit trying to do samatha, solidifying the breath? (BTW, I never went on retreat)