Realistic expectations without the ability to do retreat

thumbnail
D M D, modified 14 Years ago at 1/30/10 8:53 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 1/30/10 8:47 PM

Realistic expectations without the ability to do retreat

I've had one topic that's been bugging me for a while now concerning how realistic it is to make real progress on the path of meditation without the benefit of going on a long-term retreat.

I have great concentration, mostly by virtue of my nature and occupation... as a professional artist I'm required to be "into" what I do for many hours every work day. I get what that non-self absorbed satori state is that athletes, musicians and other artists cultivate all the time. I don't have any heavy emotional hang-ups or concerns. My life is stable and secure. I have a wonderful family and many friends. People often comment on how peaceful and stable I am, even during intense times like watching my mother die of cancer. Sure I suffer like any other human, but I'm not doing meditation to solve any personal "issues".

I've been fascinated with meditation and the prospect of enlightenment for a couple decades now. I've read volumes of books and meditated in various ways off and on along the way. Mostly it's been hit and miss since the one thing I've never had is a real live personal teacher to keep me real about what it's all about. Daniel's book and more importantly his "it can be done if you don't fuck around" attitude really sing to me currently and has me motivated to buckle down and do my best.