Where the Heck am I? :)

thumbnail
Darrin Rice, modified 11 Years ago at 9/11/12 6:01 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/10/12 9:22 PM

Where the Heck am I? :)

I'm gonna try to make this short because I hate really long paragraphs.

I believe I had my first A&P at age 19. I just started going to church with a girl I liked, which was my first experience with Christianity. I had a really serious argument with my dad and ran out to the woods and kind of called out to God. It was like peace flooded through me and everything stopped, the woods went quiet and then it was like everything rushed back in. I went from tears to total peace and contentment.

I believe I have been stuck in the Dark Night since then. A very long time as I am 52 now. I am pretty sure though that I may have had a few more A&P over the years.

I have been meditating on and off for the last 20 years with the past year and half being the most dedicated I have ever been.

Practice:
I sit down and within a few minutes I am able to stay on the breath without much trouble. I can pick up on vibrations in the breath at about 10 per second after I have settled in for a while. It's mostly on the out breath that I sense the vibrations. In/Top/Bottom I am aware of but the vibrations are not as pronounced. (correction: Make it mostly on the in breath not the out breath, actually when it starts it is as if a wave comes over me at the start of the in breath and then the vibrations become clear. Just meditated and figured this out.)

I have times when it seems that I am drifting out of concentration but I recently realized that was not really the case. It's more like I am down in a shallow hole (not a great explanation) that has me, not cut off from sensation, but it's like a curtain between me and sensation. I am still following my breath though the breath and everything else seems far away.