Tips for dealing with annoying daily mind noise?

Josh Campbell, modified 11 Years ago at 9/11/12 10:48 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/11/12 10:48 PM

Tips for dealing with annoying daily mind noise?

I have been doing daily life practice for about two years. I experienced major perceptual shifts at various times and do not really feel like a "me" anymore. In fact, as I go about my day, go to work, or walk in the park, I kind of feel like "this system is just functioning all by itself." It's cool.

However, there is so much damn mind noise all the time! The arising and passing of commercial jingles, songs i heard on the radio, and the like just go round and round in my head all day long. It's just annoying. I really experience these mental objects as not-self and just making their appearance on their own, but, again, its annoying. If my concentration is really good then I can just focus my attention on the sounds of the present moment (like traffic or the birds). However, if i'm tired or sluggish then the mind noise just amplifies.

I feel like the suffering of creating a false self out of non-dual sensations has ceased for the most part. So, yeah, not much suffering there. However, is this type of suffering to be expected based on my just having a mind and body?

Josh
thumbnail
N A, modified 11 Years ago at 9/12/12 12:42 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/12/12 12:23 AM

RE: Tips for dealing with annoying daily mind noise?

If you're just talking about "earworms", why not enjoy them instead?
When I get a song stuck in my head (which is more or less all the time), I just start singing it...

Another idea: stop listening to commercials and the radio? Some pretty obvious cause and effect there, no?
L O, modified 11 Years ago at 9/12/12 6:32 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/12/12 6:32 AM

Surely no sensation can be experienced as annoying or not without a process of selfing occurring to make it so?

Some perhaps more practical thoughts: