eye movement

B B, modified 11 Years ago at 9/14/12 9:02 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/14/12 9:02 AM

eye movement

My question: should I try to keep my eyes still when noting? I find I tend to visualise and move my eyes in the general direction of my noting to better focus on the sensations, but I suspect it's best to keep one's eyes still for concentration to develop.

Background: I've been practicing anapanasati for almost 3 years. Once I could reach the 4th jhana regularly I'd hoped to post something on this site about all the various ways you can incorrectly practice this form of meditation - I'm starting to feel like an expert on it xD. Recently, I decided to switch to vipassana though, as I feel I've finally hit a dead end with samatha. This came when I became convinced I had all the ingredients right - the mindfulness, the mind "inclined to abandoning", the consistency, the sense of the breath as continuous and steady... I've filled several A4 pages with notes on technique - but I could still never get anywhere near being able to induce enough pleasurable sensations in access concentration to start the "positive feedback reinforcement loop", although at times I've felt like I've reached the second or even third jhana without the pleasure. I put this down to the DN - though I don't remember crossing the A&P, if the symptoms of the DN are a desire to do nothing but meditate, and an inability to enjoy normal forms of entertainment, beautiful sunsets, expensive food, computer games, making out with hot girls, and also a kind of unusual sensitivity to physical sensations and a kind of flu-like tenderness all the time, then I'm definitely qualified.