Where on the maps?

thumbnail
yuri k, modified 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 9:35 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 9:35 AM

Where on the maps?

My background is Taoist. The practice is similar to Vipassana but holds focus/awareness in two internal locations.

In 2001 I had the 'arising and passing away' experience followed by 4 months of absolute intense events covering a very broad spectrum. A lot of effort over the year resulted in all wild aspects completely settling.

The most interesting outcome is a new cognitive state. The stream of consciousness disappeared completely and has never returned. This includes trying to force any type of 'noise' including silent counting. However the actual ability to count (or perform any other 'normal' cognitive operations) functions as it always did. This state has remained constant since late 2001. Emotions are very slight and other components, such as REM sleep, are somewhat different.

At any point in time I can focus awareness or intent to move through the jhanas up to the eighth but there is also a tendency for these to occur spontaneously. I also have acute awareness of all aspects of non-verbal communication in people around me as well as full sensation for qi.

EEG is significantly different than the norm with extremely large peak at 12-13Hz. Have not had a chance for fMRI but that might be interesting too.

Any others out there with similar state?
m m a, modified 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 11:39 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 11:39 AM

RE: Where on the maps?

yes emoticon
M N, modified 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 2:11 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 2:05 PM

If by "stream of consciousness" you mean thoughts, there is a nice discussion on something very similar to what you describe in the MTCB chapter on the thoughts model...

Bye!
thumbnail
yuri k, modified 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 2:32 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/21/12 2:32 PM

Mario Nistri: