Can stream entry interfere with creativity?

thumbnail
Svetlana Grishina, modified 11 Years ago at 9/25/12 3:54 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/25/12 3:54 PM

Can stream entry interfere with creativity?

Buying into linguistic labyrinths and being lost in them is a big part of text production. So I was wandering if attainment of stream entry could somehow negatively effect the ability to write passionate texts full of existential angst? =)))
For instance the way in which Franz Kafka describes all his experience in his diaries is very detached and he seems to have somehow penetrated the illusion of a "self". Yet when he spoke to Rudolf Steiner after listening to his lectures on theosophy, he was afraid to commit to any practice because he was worried that he would lose his ability to write.
I'm really no expert in this, but it seems to me that he must have been a chronic dark night yogi. As well as Dostoevsky, Khlebnikov, Salinger, Khlebnikov, Pelevin, or any other writer with a longing for some kind of mysticism for that matter. It is almost as if it has something to do with finding the actual physical reality a bit boring and predictable and wanting to simultaneously create and buy into ideas that are more extravagant.
To me the idea of stopping the thought process seems very scary because I find my thoughts terribly entertaining and I really love buying into this kind of content. =))
I have also noticed funny correlations between the so-called "three doors" and language and ideas that many post-structuralists point to.
I am well aware that the only purpose literature could possibly serve is entertaining the mind, and that this somehow opposes meditation. But I'm really not sure what to think of all this.
Any ideas? =))
thumbnail
John P, modified 11 Years ago at 9/25/12 4:44 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 9/25/12 4:44 PM

RE: Can stream entry interfere with creativity?

Disclaimer: I'm not a stream-enterer or above.