Regarding 1'st path or not and Shamata "pressure"

thumbnail
Dhammadinne T, modified 14 Years ago at 2/19/10 3:37 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/8/10 3:08 AM

Regarding 1'st path or not and Shamata "pressure"

I’ve recently found this website and am happy to see how much practical knowledge that is contained within these forums. Thank you all for contributing to that : )

I have a question that I’ve been analyzing through readings of Daniel Ingram’s book but still haven’t been able to pin down. And I also have a question regarding Shamata practice that I think some of you will be able to answer. A little history to explain where I’m at.

I’ve been meditating on and off for the last 15 years but all that seems like I was just playing around compared to when I became a monk after last summer and got serious with it. Nothing compares to continuous and steady practice. Things went really fast and I have experiences with the Jhanas although I have troubles staying with them for longer than short periods. The afterglow is still really good and helps with the Vipassana meditation.