Insight stages

ray yi, modified 11 Years ago at 10/19/12 7:57 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 10/19/12 7:57 AM

Insight stages

Hi all!

I am a newbie meditator. I would like to thank you all, especially Daniel for great site with lots of useful information.

I read Daniels book MCTB and I am a bit confused about the stages of Vipassana Jhana. In the book he says he is stuck in dukka nanas for years. I thought you only went through the stages during meditation?

Does that mean you meditate through to a certain stage and you will stop at that stage indefinitely until you can reach the next stage in another meditation session.

I read somewhere that pre-path meditators always start at stage 1 (body and mind) and then go up from there.

So a bit confused.......

Thanks for any enlightening adviceemoticon)
thumbnail
Fitter Stoke, modified 11 Years ago at 10/19/12 2:40 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 10/19/12 2:40 PM

RE: Insight stages

It can be confusing.

The idea is that the A&P is the point of no return. There are many ways of getting over the A&P - vipassana, drugs, chanting, just effing around with your perception, etc. - but once you do, your brain is forever changed. Once the mind has managed to see the three characteristics that clearly in some object, it tends to generalize that insight to the background of experience as well (space, time, subject, object). A person whose mind naturally inclines that way is now a "dark night yogi".