Stream Entry?

Asher K, modified 11 Years ago at 11/2/12 3:56 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/2/12 3:56 PM

Stream Entry?

Hello, I recently spent 3 weeks on retreat at MBMC and after leaving the retreat it began to occur to me that I may have attained stream entry. It’s been about 5 weeks since I left the center and I thought it might be a good idea to post here and get some folks opinions.

My practice before the retreat: I’ve been meditating daily for the last 5 years, but it’s been the last 2.5 that I’ve gotten really into a noting practice. In that time I’ve done 6 ten day retreats, and maintained a practice of at least 2 hours/day. For the month before this retreat at mbmc I was sitting between 2-8 hours/day.

While I’ve been very interested in the progress of insight I’ve always had a very difficult time observing the stages in my meditation. At my most attentive I can sometimes pick up the shift from three characteristics to a+p, from a+p to dark night, and from dark night to equanimity. I’ve never been able to confidently and clearly observe the shift within the stages in dark night. It was explained to me once that while picking up on the stages does take practice, to some extent it’s also just a skill that some have and some don’t. Anyway, so I think that makes it not so surprising that I may have missed the fruition moment. If I had one…

On the retreat: On this last retreat I found myself in an amazing state of equanimity. My actual sits were nothing spectacular, but I found myself deeply accepting of whatever arose. There were times when I was definitely feeling a lot of anxiety and restlessness, but even in those situations it rarely ever bugged me. Sometimes I had really great concentration and other times I just couldn’t stay focused. There was a good deal of fluctuation in my experiences, but most of the time I was very much unbothered by whether what I was feeling was pleasant or unpleasant. It felt like I was just watching the ride.