How to be aware of the breath without changing it?

Jose Antonio, modified 11 Years ago at 11/5/12 4:23 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/5/12 4:23 PM

How to be aware of the breath without changing it?

Hi All, I'm new to meditation. I've read MCTB and I came to the conclusion that for beginners, it's probably better to start first with concentration. I'm using the technique of counting out-breaths proposed in Jhana and Ñana. However, I find difficult to watch my breath without changing it. I find myself breathing too deep or for too long.
Do you have any tips? Thank you in advance!
Adam , modified 11 Years ago at 11/5/12 7:35 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/5/12 7:35 PM

RE: How to be aware of the breath without changing it?

just be content with changing it as little as possible, if you start worrying about whether you are changing it, then you are changing it even more than you would naturally be. instead of trying to not change it at all, just don't judge any type of breathing as good or bad and be fine with altered or unaltered breath, long or deep or whatever. if you do this and just don't worry about the breath's rhythm it will settle into a natural pattern.

another approach is to breathe in a way that feels comfortable, changing the breathing pattern freely whenever it seems that you could be breathing more comfortably.
thumbnail
fivebells , modified 11 Years ago at 11/6/12 11:45 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/6/12 11:45 AM

Change in awareness will bring changes to the breath. The sutras predict it, and the principle of dependent origination implies it. In itself, it's not a problem. What do you mean by too deep/long? Too much for what purpose?
thumbnail
Bailey , modified 11 Years ago at 11/6/12 1:39 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/6/12 12:36 PM

I came to the conclusion that for beginners, it's probably better to start first with concentration