fear of absorption, anxiety, adrenalin, training the puppy

thumbnail
Martin Sokolski, modified 11 Years ago at 11/24/12 3:50 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 11/24/12 3:50 AM

fear of absorption, anxiety, adrenalin, training the puppy

NOTE: I'm reposting this as a new thread in this category (it was originally part of this post)

A lot of fear and anxiety is coming up when I sit.

I don't think I've ever experienced proper jhana, even though I've been meditating regularly for about 10 years. Certainly I've experienced jhana factors like piti and sukkha during meditation, but I've never been absorbed with the object of meditation anything beyond access concentration.

A couple of days ago a lot of fear came up as it seemed I was getting closer to letting go into the breath and absorption. Certainly my experience resonates with the following passage from Ajahn Brahm's book (p.24):
“...The more likely obstacle, though, is fear. Fear arises from the recognition of the sheer power and bliss of the jhana, or else at the recognition that to go fully inside the jhana something must be left behind -- you! The doer is silent before entering the jhana, but is still there. Inside the jhana, however, the doer is completely gone.”

The thing is that since that sit, my fear and anxiety outside of meditation have increased considerably, and I'm more restless, and have even more adrenalin than usual pumping around too. Every time I sit to meditate, the fear gets stronger. Today I just stopped meditating when it came up. Is this a common experience for people, especially control-freaks like myself who have problems letting go?

I'd be quite happy to just carry on despite the fear if knew it wasn't going to send me doolally. But my concern is that it will turn me into an anxious wreck!