Daylong ahead: Next step?

thumbnail
boeuf f, modified 14 Years ago at 2/18/10 5:27 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/18/10 5:27 PM

Daylong ahead: Next step?

I'm new here. Great thanks for this site! I have a day-long retreat coming up this weekend and would appreciate perspectives on how to use that time.

I've been a very interested dillettante of the dharma for over 15 years. Meditating inconsistently for that time. For about ten years, external difficulties made time/resources for practice very scarce--but I have done relaxation practices (breath-work with concentration) consistently for about 3 years.

Now that I have the time and peaceful externals to actually get serious about the dharma and meditation practice, I've been meditating for four months and checking out the dharma scene...same mixed feelings as the last time I checked it out, but that's the way of the world.... Anyway, so very glad to find Daniel's book! I wish I had come across that when I started out years ago--so straightforward!!! I think my meditation would have been a lot more consistent back in the day if. In fact, I think one problem with my motivation was that I had been floating in a soup of differing, poorly differentiated instructions and didn't really have enough goals to create a sense of traction/presence.

For a little over a month, I've really focused on concentration, which has always been a weak point for me (lots of forgetting and distraction). My concentration has improved--I think I'm at access and maybe a little further. Below is a sitting journal excerpt:

Evening sit 50 mins: