Getting Started

thumbnail
Ryan M Cornelius, modified 14 Years ago at 2/24/10 1:55 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/24/10 1:55 PM

Getting Started

I am ready to begin my practice; however, I have only sat on a cushion probably twice. The only reason I found this place was because a kind fellow put me in front of Ingram's Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha after telling him of my desire to cut through the "fluff". It was great to finally meet a like minded individual after growing up with and meeting nothing but "mushrooms". I have not reached access concentration as far as I know, but I have 11 days coming up next month and I want to take the opportunity to go on my first retreat. I live in Portland, Oregon and know nothing of the type of teacher I would choose or the characteristics of a good retreat.

The book emphasized doing a retreat over practicing an hour a day to get better results. As I am a complete novice, should I hold off on a retreat till I have at least obtained access concentration? If not, where should I go? What should I expect? I found no advice (or I missed it) in the book regarding what a good retreat is really like or what happens in a good retreat? Do I have to interact with other people, do I have to cook food, meet up for classes? etc. I appreciate any advice that anyone can provide. Thanks in advance.
J Adam G, modified 14 Years ago at 2/25/10 3:33 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 2/25/10 3:33 PM

RE: Getting Started

I haven't done a retreat myself, so I can't give you advice about the experience of retreats. However, I can say that you don't need access concentration in order to do a retreat and get good results. Vipassana practice doesn't require access concentration. You can use a less intense thing called moment-to-moment concentration. It doesn't produce results as quickly as access or jhanic concentration, but it definitely can work. Otherwise, nobody would ever get results with bare insight practice.