Shamatha experience

thumbnail
Max Flanagan, modified 11 Years ago at 1/3/13 2:45 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 1/3/13 2:45 AM

Shamatha experience

So, I've been doing shamatha in fits since 2009. I've had a few periods where I'd be doing it every day for three weeks, getting inbetween 20-40 minutes a day. Some of these periods have been interrupted by serious drug binges and intentionally cultivating a distracted mind- really trying my hardest to just zone out. That's passed now, and I've gotten back on the shamatha horse. I've been at it for three weeks now- I've always logged every one of my sessions. I really had to try hard and forgive myself and start off again slowly, with even ten minute sessions, twelve minute sessions. I've been ramping it up slowly, and now I sit for thirty minutes.

Well, I just got out of a twenty-eight minute sit, and had an interesting experience. The tone of my concentration seemed to markedly change. I just joined here and was kind of feeling crappy about myself and where I'm at, and that was a bit of a distraction. I decided to just continue.

I'm guessing what was about twenty minutes in or so, instead of the normal "wrestling" feeling I have, trying to really keep my concentration as deeply as possible on the sensation of the breathe, I changed my attention from sort of visualizing the stream of air traveling up through my nose to just the sensation on the tip of my nostrils. It felt like I suddenly "blew through something", and instead of wrestling it felt a lot more like relaxing. I spent a few minutes basically trying to keep as calm as I possibly could to clarify my vision on the sensation in my nostrils. I was pleased because I didn't have to bothered by whether I was inhaling or exhaling.